Philippine Army Order of Battle
Date Updated: Saturday June 10, 2006

Home | Navy | Marines | Air Force

Order of Battle
(Speculative and incomplete.)

The Philippine Army is basically a territorial army with a few specialized designated maneuver units in the composed of units of the Special Operations Command, the newly formed Light Reaction Companies and the First Scout Ranger Regiment.  Unlike Philippine Marine practice, Army units are basically tied to the areas they operate and rarely deploy outside of it.  Designated maneuver forces are dependent on the Air Force or the Navy for long range deployment across the Philippine archipelago.

The Philippine Army has some eight light infantry divisions with another one currently building up from an independent brigade.  In addition, there are five  Engineering Brigades, one Artillery Brigade, one Armored Brigade (Regiment?), one Aviation Battalion and a Special Operations Command (which the Scout Ranger Regiment is a part of).

In the Philippine Army, an infantry division normally has three brigades with a total strength of some 5,000 men.  Each infantry battalion has a strength of some 500 men. Artillery and armored units are detached from their respective brigades (which are basically training and holding organizations) and attached to each division or brigade as requirements dictate.  The divisions in turn are assigned to Area Commands (Northern Luzon, Southern Luzon, Western, Central and Southern Commands) which report to the General Headquarters, AFP.


There is talk that the Armored Brigade is to be expanded to a division size formation at the expense of the special operations forces.

Headquarters, Philippine Army, Fort Bonifacio, Makati, Metro Manila

Army Staff

    Commanding General, PA
    Vice Commander, PA
    Chief of Staff, PA

Coordinating Staff (Assistant Chiefs of Staff)

    Personnel (G1)
    Intelligence (G2)
    Operations (G3)
    Logistics (G4)
    Plans and Programs (G5)
    Comptrollership (G6)
    Civil Military Operations (G7)
    Training and Education (G8)
    Reservist and Retirees Affairs (G10)
    Communication-Electronics and Information Systems (G11)

Special and Technical Staff

    Chief Surgeon
    Dental Surgeon
    Chief Nurse
    Adjutant General
    Judge Advocate General
    Provost Marshal
    Chief of Engineers
    Chief Ordnance and Chemical Service
    Chief Artillery
    Chief Infantry
    Chief Quartermaster
    Chief Chaplain
    Army Modernization Program Management Office
    Military Personnel Office

Headquarters and Headquarters Support Group, Fort Bonifacio, Makati, Metro Manila

Combat Units

    1st Infantry Division, Camp Major Cesar L. Sang-an, Pulacan, Labangan, Pagadian City, Zamboanga del Sur
    2nd Infantry Division, Camp Gen. Mateo Capinpin, Tanay, Rizal
    3rd Infantry Division, Camp Gen. Macario G. Peralta Jr., Jamindan, Capiz
    4th Infantry Division, Camp Edilberto Evangelista, Cagayan de Oro City, Misamis Oriental
    5th Infantry Division, Camp Upi, Echague, Gamu, Isabela
    6th Infantry Division, Camp BGen Gonzalo H. Siongco, Sitio Awang, Datu Odin Sinsuat, Dinaig, Tacurong City, Maguindanao (next to Cotabato Airport)
    7th Infantry Division, Fort Ramon Magsaysay, Palayan City, Laur, Nueva Ecija
    8th Infantry Division, Camp Vicente Lukban, Brgy. Maulong, Catbalogan, Western Samar
    9 Infantry Brigade (Separate), [currently being expanded into a divison], Camp Canuto, Sagurong, Pili, Camarines Sur
    Special Operations Command (PASOCOM), Fort Ramon Magsaysay, Palayan City, Laur, Nueva Ecija
    Light Armor Brigade (LABde), Camp O’Donnell, Capas, Tarlac

Combat Support Units

    51st Engineering Brigade, Camp Gen. Rigoberto Atienza, Libis, Lungsod, Quezon City, Metro Manila
    52nd Engineering Brigade, Camp Natividad, Manolo Fortich, Malaybalay, Bukidnon
    53rd Engineering Brigade, Cebu City, Cebu
    54th Engineering Brigade, Camp Pito Abat, Manaoag, Pangasinan
    55th Engineering Brigade, San Gabriel, Davao City, Davao del Sur
    525th Engineering Construction Battalion (S), Fort Bonifacio, Makati, Metro Manila
    Signal Group
    Intelligence and Security Group, Fort Bonifacio, Makati, Metro Manila
    Civil Affairs Group 
    Army Aviation Battalion

Service Support Units

    Training and Doctrine Command, Fort Ramon Magsaysay, Palayan City, Laur, Nueva Ecija
    Dental Service Center
    Army Support Command
    Finance Center
    Army Management Information Center
    Reserve Command, Camp Riego de Dios, Paradahan, Tanza, Cavite

There are 15 standby reserve infantry divisions under Army Reserve Command, including:

    61st Infantry Division (SRes), Western Visayas (affiliated with 3d Infantry Division)
    131st Infantry Division (SRes), Manila  Special Services Unit